sayulita magic

image

When I got to Sayulita, things went quiet. Not really…it’s a pretty loud place. But things went quiet in my head. A lot of the noise in my mind kind of melted away, and I was able to focus on where I was, hear my own thoughts clearly and remember the true simplicity of this thing called life.

image

The streets are lined with brightly coloured buildings pressed up against each other and stacked on top of each other in heaps. It was hard to walk 50 metres without encountering a sign that simply says ‘Love’ and in the mornings the streets drained themselves of chaos and made me feel like the only person in the world. It was beautiful.

image

The overarching message I felt this place sending me was: all that matters in life is finding colour, love and a bit of peace every now and again. It helped me appreciate just how peripheral a lot of the things that we stress about in first world society are. How happiness survives just fine without them.

image

I spoke to an English guy who’s lived there for 8 years. He runs the juice and Smoothie shop (so I saw him quite a bit). When I asked him what brought him to Sayulita, his answer was simple. ‘I wanted to start a family, live near the ocean, and escape the first world crazies. I wanted a bit of peace’. And that’s exactly what you’ll find there.

image

I was brought up very much to believe in big ambition, driving for success and striving to get to the top. But Sayulita basically spelt out for me in big colourful letters: ‘Why isn’t simply living enough?’

Why do we think that waking up every day, working hard and being loved isn’t enough?

image

People I know scoff at this way of life, as though it is some sort of failure. But if you have love, something to do and peace in your life, how could you have failed?

image

We are brought up to ‘climb the ladder’, to reach for the stars, dream on a massive scale. But this ladder we think about is just one sort in this world. It’s the big tall one you climb to the top floors of skyscrapers. First world society has taught us that ‘success’ equates to career milestones and money. But that’s only one form of success, one aspect of our lives. What about the relationship ladder? Or the one leading to a healthy mind and a healthy body? What about the ladder to peace? These are no easy feats, yet they always seem to come second.

image

It helped that there were constant reminders of death staring me in the face, but in the most accepting and light-hearted way. These jovial skeletons help you remember what life is all about, and not to take anything too seriously.

image

I never asked juice man his name. I didn’t need to. I’ll always remember him as someone who helped teach me a lesson. And I think that’s success. Having an impact on those you encounter: that’s a dream come true.

image

It’s funny that I spent most of my 2 days working in the humidity, changing clothes on the beach and in little corners and golf carting from location to location under time pressures, but that’s not what stuck with me. This job is about people and learning and growth to me. That’s what keeps me coming back, and that’s what Sayulita gave me. Top quality of both!

image

So I hope you liked these shoddy iPhone shots I took whilst toddling around Sayulita, a town that will always have a special place in my heart.

image

MASSIVE GRATITUDE to Spiritual Gangster – the brand that brought me here. You ladies throw so much positivity into this world, in so many ways. Namaste!

image

[Photos edited on vscocam]

 

One thought on “sayulita magic

  1. That was wonderful, I would sincerely hope that as this world spins on into eternity that eventually this powerful mindset takes hold over the whole of humanity…. in my opinion, THIS is what will help us achieve a world of ultimate peace. Thanks for sharing, this made my day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

